Welcome to the SDVBCA website and the latest VB news!

SDVBCA Announcements- updated  5-8-18
Reminders/Deadlines (for more...see calendar below)
  • Please use the link below to put information for your team unto the ACE VB Preview Website.
    All information must be sent by the July 1st deadline.
  • Thanks to all the coaches that attended the SDVBCA Spring Clinic. I hope you all took some information home with you that will be beneficial to you in coaching your team in the upcoming season.
  • Also, thanks to the SDVBCA  coaches who spoke at the clinic.
  • The SDHSAA Summer Coaches clinic will be held in conjunction with the National Convention. It will be held in Sioux Falls, June 25th-27th.
  • Nora Groft, one of the 8 Finalists for the National COTY in the sport of VB, will speak on Wednesday, June 27th.
  • National Convention Information  Online registration closes June 15th.

The Miss Volleyball Award was presented at a banquet held on December 2nd at Harrisburg North Middle School.  Congratulations to Avery Thorson, Ellie Voss and Peyton Ellingson who were selected Miss Volleyball in their respective classes.

  • 'AA' Miss VB Finalists
     Paiton Burckhard, Aberdeen Central
     ***Avery Thorson, Harrisburg
     Madison Wassink, Harrisburg
     Jayda Schillingstad, Huron
     Rylee Boyd, Sioux Falls Roosevelt
  • 'A' Miss VB Finalists
     Sierra Ward, Belle Fourche
     Ellizabeth Lammers, Dakota Valley
     Meredith Lammers, Dakota Valley
     Emily Strasser, Sioux Falls Christian
     ***Ellie Voss, Sioux Falls Christian
  • 'B' Miss VB Finalists
     Charlie Tisdall, Herreid-Selby Area
     Peyton Groft, Northwestern Area
     ***Peyton Ellingson, Warner

Congratulations to these coaches for being selected as a 2017 Region Coach of the Year !!

Congratulations to the 2017 All-State Teams!!!!!

Congratulations to the 2017 South Dakota Volleyball Champions!!!

AA- Harrisburg- Ronette Costain

A- Sioux Falls Christian- Darci Wassenaar

B- Northwestern- Nora Groft 

Photos: Courtesy of SDPB

Congratulations to the following teams who earned their way to the 2017 SD state tournament in Rapid City!

Class B:
Northwestern, Chester, Warner, Hanson, Herreid/Selby Area, Burke/South Central, Deubrook, Faith

Class A:
SF Christian, Dakota Valley, Belle Fourche, Madison, Miller, Sioux Valley, Parker, McCook Central/Montrose

Class AA:
Harrisburg, Mitchell, RC Stevens, Aberdeen  SDVBCACentral, Watertown, Huron, SF Washington, SF O'Gorman

Congratulations to our 2017 SDVBCA Scholarship Winners!!

Sarah Benson, Isaac Groft, Mikaela Hoeke, and Jordan Thill

Calling all VB coaches-past and present!!! 
I have included a new webpage "Longest Winning Streaks" to the SDVBCA website. To be included, I need the name of the coach, the school, the streak (at least 20 in a row), and the year(s) of the winning streak.
See below for a list updated on Nov.1, 2017.

Congratulations to Nora Groft for being a Finalist for the National High School Athletic Association Volleyball Coach of the Year! The finalists will present at a session of the National Coaches Convention in Sioux Falls in June!

AVCA News from South Dakota!!!

Kathy DeBoer presents Jill Christensen plaque for 800 wins
Kathy DeBoer (AVCA) presents  Jill Christensen with a plaque for 800 wins at the AVCA National Convention.

Congratulations to Avery Thorson for being name the SD Gatorade VB Player of the Year!

Congratulations to the SDVBCA Team Academic Members for 2017!

Congratulations to the SDVBVA Academic All-State Members for 2017!

Congratulations to Alexz Smith- Northwestern and Lindsey Kuper- Harrisburg for being selected as award winners in the 2nd AVCA Thirty under 30 High School Awards!

  • A big 'thank you' to Darren Tipton (Adrenaline Fundraising) and Scott Backus (Power Promotions) for helping to sponsor the 2017 Volleyball All-Star Weekend!
Congratulations to the 
2017 North-South All-Star Teams! 
South beat the North 3-0 
(25-16, 25-12, 25-22)

2017 Special All-Star Award Winners
Hitting Award- Ellie Voss- SF Christian
Setting Award- Jayda Shillingstad- Huron
Digging Award- Emily Strasser- SF Christian

All-Star Picture Link: 2017

All-Star Picture Link: 2016

Congratulations to Mike West who was inducted into the SDVBCA Hall of Fame at the 2017 State Volleyball Tournament in Rapid City!

Mike West- 2017 SDVBCA Hall Of Fame

Congratulations to the teams that earned their way to Championship match of their respective class!!!!

B- Northwestern over Warner (3-1)
25-17, 23-25, 25-20, 28-26

A- SF Christian over Dakota Valley (3-2)
25-13, 19-25, 19-25, 25-15, 15-13

AA- Harrisburg over Rapid City Stevens (3-1)   25-17, 21-25, 25-23, 25-15

Congratulations to the 2017 All-Tourney Teams (as selected by coaches from the SDVBCA at Rapid City)

Recent Volleyball Headlines Posted Here

Congratulations to Chester Area, Menno, Northwestern, Parker, and Warner,  for being named to the 2017 AVCA Team Academic Award!!!

George Kiner and SD Coaches Against Cancer have Volleyball History Memory Books for sale. The updated booklet includes: 
Results of all SDHSAA sponsored tournaments (1982-2015)
Stories, pictures and results of each B-A-AA State tournament
Individual and Team Statistics
Volleyball Coaches of the Year
Volleyball Hall of Fame
Coaches HOF resumes (NEW!!!)

If you have any questions, corrections  for  
any webpage or can fill in some of the            missing information, please email me            at Jill.Christensen@k12.sd.us.

Deadlines: See calendar below